Prayer & Food

I’ve been longing for a familiar routine to the day, for peace, for rhythm. So I asked some friends who are older and wiser what to do. They told me something I already knew but that God needed to tell me again.
I have a habit of making Him do that.
It reminds me of a story I read in My Life with the Saints. The words “Take nothing with you for your journey” follow this guy around. At first he thinks it’s just coincidence but he literally finds them everywhere,in places he never expected. Finally he prays. “Seven is supposed to be a lucky number, so if you show this to me for the seventh time, I will give away all my possessions.”  I’m sure, wise friends, you know what happens next.
Sometimes God has to beat us with his directions. (And I complain when I have to repeat directions to my toddler. Sheesh!) A few weeks ago I read this post and this post. Husband and I even worked on a daily schedule that included the Liturgy of the Hours but it lasted all of two days before I decided the house needed to be clean before I could keep to this new schedule (a post on how YOU overcome perfectionism to come).
As I opened each email I too found the same words again and again. It shouldn’t have been a surprise- pray the Hours and plan your mealtimes. After all shouldn’t our domestic monasteries follow a similar schedule to the non-domestic variety? Just check out the sense in another post from Jennifer Fulwiler.
So dear friends, how does the rhythm of your home go? What are/were the young children doing while you prayed? How do you plan your meals? And speaking of meals, coming to a blog near you- “Help Me Learn to Like Vegetables.”
Impart your wisdom.
2 responses to “Prayer & Food

  1. Wow, this is such a great topic! (And thanks for the links, too!) I’m so glad you brought it up, because it’s something I should revisit in my own life. My prayer life has been abysmal over the past couple of months, and it’s interesting how that’s led to disorder in the house as well.

    Reflecting on where things went wrong (thanks to you bringing up the subject!) I think the problem was simply that I stopped making prayer my #1 priority. I stopped structuring my day around it. It became a “high priority” instead of being THE priority — and, naturally, there was *always* something supposedly more urgent that needed to be taking care of.

    Anyway, thanks for the great thoughts. I’m glad to have discovered your blog!

  2. I know families who make LOTH what they hang their days on rather than meal times, so that prayer comes first. What has helped me has been a ruthless attack on *stuff.* I did a major de-clutter a few months ago and I find that having less possessions has helped me to focus on prayer rather than” I must fix that cupboard” etc. When I get serious about keeping a schedule for the house I find that prayer comes more easily, as i don’t feel that I need to attend to x y z first. Having sais all that, I’m still no where near where i want to be in terms of regular family prayer!

Leave a Reply

